Question Status

Suggested Answer
No Man asked a question on 15 May 2013 12:02 PM

Hi everyone.. i am new to Dynamics AX.  I realized that many of the forms/Grids total field is missing.  especially Trial Balance Total. Can any one clarify me the reason behind unavailability of total in reports like trial balance in a famous ERP application like Microsoft DAX. Also Account Name is missing in many forms.  Is there any easy way to bring Total to the trial balance.

Suggested Answer
André Arnaud de Calavon responded on 15 May 2013 2:53 PM

Hi,

Which version of AX are you using? In AX2012 R2 the report detailed trial balance shows totals.

If you mean the form Trial Balance then this is by design. If you need the totals, so can easily export the grid to Excel and have the totals. Sometimes a total is at the top op a form or within a factbox.

Account name missing is because of the flexible data model on ledger accounts and dimensions. Sometimes you will see a account name or clarification only per line as retrieving the data for all row can slow down your user experience.

kind regards,

André Arnaud de Calavon  |  Microsoft Dynamics AX Solution architect  |  My blog  |  My company

This post is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect the opinion or view of my company, Microsoft, both its employees, or other MVPs.

Suggested Answer
Brandon Wiese responded on 25 May 2013 12:38 PM

Adding the account name into the Trial Balance list page is very easy in 2012 R2.  This is because the grid populates from the same data provider as the Trial Balance reports, and they show the name.  With a few small code changes, the account name plus any additional dimensions that are part of whatever dimension set you are viewing, can be built and supplied to the grid.  If anyone expresses interest I'll post a HOWTO on this.

No Man responded on 28 May 2013 12:51 PM

Hi Andrew, i am using AX 2012.