Question Status

Verified
imecoax asked a question on 2 Feb 2014 2:26 AM

Hi,

I am new to MS Dynamics so please excuse the "possibly newbie questions".

We are in the process of implementing Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012R2 and I was wondering what the ideal mid-range setups would be. We would need some sort of high-availability

There will be approximately 100 users with predicted growth to around 150.

We are in the process of acquiring the hardware and my initial thoughts were to have some sort of 1GBit iSCSI backened (HP MSA P2000) with a bunch of 15k RPM disks in RAID 10 and clustered storage using Windows Server 2012R2 for all the virtual machines (virtualizing the entire setup).

Any sort of advice or experience would be great.

Many thanks!

Alexban responded on 2 Feb 2014 4:10 AM

Hello,

I have a setup of 75 users of DAX 2009 running on a HP MSA2324fc G2 via fiber channel with 24 drives + 6 inside the database sever for TempDB; all drives are 15krpm SAS drives. Right now the production environment is almost fully virtualized (3 x AOS, APP, terminal servers used by users) and it will be fully virtualized next week (running last performance tests on the new SQL server with SSD storage).

What can I tell you for sure is that you'll need a lot more iops than a bunch of disk in an MSA can provide. Also, 1Gb iSCSI might be a bit to less. Of coures it depends on your particular setup.