Question Status

Verified
Michael Mo asked a question on 26 Mar 2014 3:50 AM
Firstly I am not a developer or programmer... We are currently upgrading to Nav 2013, and I want to update my bespoke report to Nav 2013 r2. The report opens an excel template which used to be stored on the users pc (good for security limiting users that can run this). Now it appears as though I have to let the server to run the report. My question is... if the code was ... ExcelBuf.OpenBook(ExcelFileName, 'Data'); ExcelBuf.CreateSheet('Data','xxx',COMPANYNAME,USERID); ExcelBuf.GiveUserControl; And the CreateSheet changes to WriteSheet ExcelBuf.OpenBook(ExcelFileName, 'Data'); ExcelBuf.WriteSheet (PADSTR(STRSUBSTNO('%1 %2','Data','xxx'),30), COMPANYNAME, USERID); ExcelBuf.GiveUserControl; I then find that on the nav server that the file format is not allowed to be xlt, so changed to xlxs. Final straw is "A call to Microsoft.Dynamics.Nav.OpenXml.Spreadsheet.WorkbookReader.Open failed with the message: \\servername\folder\filename.xlxs" As I say I am no developer, but having made a perfectly good report I just want to upgrade it. Any help appreciated.
Saurav Dhyani responded on 26 Mar 2014 4:35 AM

Dear Michael.

Please go through the link below -

saurav-nav.blogspot.in/.../nav-2013-nav-2013-r2-save-export-to.html

and let me know if any issues.

Regards,

Saurav Dhyani

saurav-nav.blogspot.com

Michael Mo responded on 31 Mar 2014 4:51 AM

Hi Suarav

firstly thank you for the reply. I have now got the excel file producing, but....  we had a template file we opened, and we filled it with equations such as

=IF(D19="CHF",sum(11671*$J$5),IF(D19="USD",sum(11671*$J$6),IF(D19="EUR",sum(11671*$J$7),IF(D19="LCY",11671))))

The excel buffer doesn't seem to like this and puts it in as text. I looked at the code of table 370 (Excel Buffer) and the options don't seem to allow for this.

So in summary there are two issues:

1. I can't find a function to open an existing template.