Question Status

Verified
Jon Frain asked a question on 24 Mar 2014 10:08 AM

Hello,

I am very new to MS Dynamics SL.  My company had hired consultants to develop our environment.  We are currently looking to become more independent at this point.

I'm trying to determine how to do the following:

1) When I hit F3 on the Purchase Order Maintenance->Project text field it pops up with a populated table.  I want to make it so that:

a) The description field is searchable - currently it returns the third row if I enter a letter and hit TAB.

b) All fields are searchable with wildcards.

2) I'd like to know what's involved in implementing my own search function if #1 isn't doable.  I'd like to know if I can simply pop up a new window that auto-populates as the user enters characters.  I assume I can do this with VB code under customization.

3) I'd like to know how to add templates.  We recently ran SP2 to alleviate crashing when looking at customization properties.  Ever since then two of our Accounts Receivable templates won't load.  I can't tell if they were corrupted or if they are looking for different files names ...

I'm hoping I can simply delete the current templates and relink them to the file locations.

I want to get the description field to be searchable

Suggested Answer
PerumalSamy R responded on 25 Mar 2014 12:31 PM

Hello John Frain,

Below is my answers for your questions.

Question #1

You can use the Project ID; Customer ID & Description look up for searching operation by clicking the column Header on Possible value lookup.

For Example: If you want to search the project that starts with “ESA”, you can simply click the Project ID column Header and type the “ESA” name on Project look up. The possible value look up displays the project that starts with “ESA”

Question # 2

If you want to include your own search option on project field, you have to do the simple customization in PO maintenance screen.