‘Better Together’ Integration forum available
We're launching a how-to forum where you can learn and engage about how Dynamics 365 integrates with other Power Platform products.
Read about Better Together forum
2020 release wave 1Discover the latest updates and new features to Dynamics 365 planned through September 2020
Release overview guides and videos Release Plan | Preview 2020 Release Wave 1 TimelineWatch the 2020 Release Wave 1 virtual launch event
Ace your Dynamics 365 deployment with packaged services delivered by expert consultants. | Explore service offerings
Connect with the ISV success team on the latest roadmap, developer tool for AppSource certification, and ISV community engagements | ISV self-service portal
The FastTrack program is designed to help you accelerate your Dynamics 365 deployment with confidence.
FastTrack Program | Finance TechTalks | Customer Engagement TechTalks | Upcoming TechTalks
I have a solution named "Solution A" which i imported from test>prod, was unmanaged in test and in prod managed. After the import i was satisfied with the results, but i don't need the solution anymore but i need the components. If i go into the solution in "Test env" and remove the components, and then import a higher version in prod, will that remove the components only? Because when importing it says when choosing Upgrade (it will delete components that are not in the solution" but i only want to "remove" and not delete? Will this step only remove and not delete?
Just wanted to check.
Hi, if you remove them from dev solution and upgrade in Prod it will delete them from Prod but obviously they will still be available in Dev that you can pull into your solution whenever you want.
Hi, ok, so for e.g i have a Contact entity with a custom field (in the prod managed solution), i did "remove" them in the dev unmanaged solution. Now i want to do an upgrade on the Prod solution with "removal" of the components in the solution so i can remove the solution in prod & dev because i don't use it.
So my question is then, how do i remove the components from the managed solution in Prod I have removed the components in the Dev solution, and also want it removed from the Prod solution but not "deleted"?
Upgrade will delete any components from Prod that are not in Dev. Are you trying to delete the solution in Prod then, why can't you because of dependencies? If so you will need to remove those dependencies in dev(if you still want them in Prod add them to a new solution and import that), upgrade and that will delete them from the solution you want to delete.
I would like to delete the solution in Dev, but if i delete the solution it will delete the Contact entity and the field which is not what i want. I want to delete the Solution without touching the components in it, so i would like to "remove" and not delete the components in some way, and after the have been removed, then i can easily delete the solution when it's blank, any idea how i can achieve this?
Still not sure where you want to remove the component from as you previously said Production, if you delete the solution in Dev assuming it's unmanaged it will not delete any components they will still be left behind and you can't delete the Contact entity anyway, only remove it from your solution as it is a managed entity. In Dev just select each component and remove, then when all removed delete the solution.
Business Applications communities