Personalized Community is here!
Quickly customize your community to find the content you seek.
Check out the latest Sales updates!Learn about the key capabilities and features of Dynamics 365 Sales and experience some of the new features.
Download overview guide | Watch Sales video
2020 Release Wave 2Discover the latest updates and new features to Dynamics 365 planned through March 2021.
Release overview guides and videos Release Plan | Preview 2020 Release Wave 2 TimelineWatch the 2020 Release Wave 1 virtual launch event
Ace your Dynamics 365 deployment with packaged services delivered by expert consultants. | Explore service offerings
Connect with the ISV success team on the latest roadmap, developer tool for AppSource certification, and ISV community engagements | ISV self-service portal
The FastTrack program is designed to help you accelerate your Dynamics 365 deployment with confidence.
FastTrack Program | Finance TechTalks | Customer Engagement TechTalks | Upcoming TechTalks
Please help me understand what data is lost on deleting a managed solution, is it the entire data for the entity that was a part of the managed solution?
Entity A in Production has 10 records.
A managed Patch A1 was installed in prod with few changes in Entity A, after which 5 more records were created for Entity A
Now when i uninstall the managed patch A1, will it delete all 15 records or just 5 records?
If all 15 records will be removed. is there a way to save 10 records prior to patch installation?
Lets say managed Patch A1 introduces a new field to Entity A from. Then when managed Patch A1 is deleted, all data related with field introduced by it will be lost.
So , if 5 records were created after managed Patch A1, when deleting managed Patch A1 these records will lose that field and associated information.
A solution can contain Entity and fields which basically holds the data. So if you uninstall managed solutions means you are basically deleting the managed solution fields and entities from the environment. So in that you can not find any data in the environment for those entity and field. Please note this is applicable for single solution and the entity which only available in that particular managed solution.
In case of deleting managed patch, let's suppose you added new entity or may be you added only fields on an existing enitity which may exists in another managed or default solutions or any other component added in the patch . In this scenario you will be completely lost the data for the new entity , however for the existing entity data will be there but field which you added newly in the patch will be lost.
In addition the component like views , forms , web resource which you created for that solution everything will be deleted.
Thanks for explaining Goutam, however i was wondering if is this the best practice to roll over any changes done in a patch.
Thank you for answering Gilmeyer
Business Applications communities