Microsoft Dynamics AX Forum

Ahmed Siliem asked a question on 10 Aug 2018 9:07 PM
My Badges

Question Status

Verified

Hi DAXers,

I'm new to X++

Thanks in advance for your support.

As shown in the picture below, I have created a new table includes 2 fields A & B used in a drop-down list in a master table form that includes other newly created 2 fields C & D. it is linked and drop-down list working properly. 

When I tried to modify C using the drop-down list that linked with the field A, I want to update field D by value from field B.

drop-down field population

Thanks again,

Martin Dráb responded on 10 Aug 2018 11:18 PM
Verified Answer

If you have the value of A (in C), is it sufficient to uniquely identify a record in the table with A and B? If so, you can simply find the record by A and read B. If it isn't, you need a different design.

Ahmed Siliem responded on 11 Aug 2018 6:24 AM
My Badges

Hi Martin,

Thank you very much for your quick answer.

As I told "I am new to X++"

So, would you mind explaining how to "is it sufficient to uniquely identify a record in the table with A and B? If so, you can simply find the record by A and read B." Please?

If you guided me in this with sample or code, I will be very thankful.

Martin Dráb responded on 12 Aug 2018 7:43 AM
Verified Answer

Sorry. :) All right, let's walk through it in a slower pace. I'll use a concrete example; it will be easier to talk about things like "vendor" than "the table containing fields A and B".

Let's say that you're filling a custom table, MyOrder, with some values from a standard table containing vendors: VendTable.

Each vendor has an ID unique in the given company (AccountNum field in VendTable). Because it's unique, you can use it to find the right vendor in VendTable and read values of any other field. Therefore if your first lookup is for a vendor ID, you have everything you need to find all other fields too.