SBX - Search With Button

SBX - Forum Post Title

How session ID in AX 2012 is generated

Microsoft Dynamics AX Forum

Chaidir Ali Assegaf asked a question on 12 Jun 2019 11:18 PM

Question Status

Suggested Answer

Hi Experts,

I'm a Junior Developer of Dynamics AX 2012 R3.

I have some question about how session id is generated in AX 2012.

what I know is, the number that generated in the session id is increment-based, and always increments whenever the user logged in. and the increment behavior is always incrementing and not using session id that has been used even tough that session id is not used by any user or process.

Is my opinion correct? can you give me the right explanation about it?

Thanks,
Chaidir Ali Assegaf

Chaidir Ali Assegaf responded on 13 Jun 2019 2:33 AM

Hi Sukrut,

Thanks for your answer, I appreciate it.
But, after I read the thread, I find that the thread doesn't answer my question.

Here's some additional information :
I have already checked the CREATEUSERSESSIONS Stored Procedure, and see how it works.
the code is looking for the biggest value of session ID with max(SessionID) + 1

SELECT @max_val = MAX(SESSIONID) + 1
FROM SYSCLIENTSESSIONS WITH (UPDLOCK)

after it retrieves the biggest value of session ID, the next process is inserting that value with another parameter needed into SYSCLIENTSESSION Table.

INSERT INTO SYSCLIENTSESSIONS (SESSIONID, SERVERID, VERSION, LOGINDATETIME, USERID, SID, USERLANGUAGE, HELPLANGUAGE, CLIENTTYPE, SESSIONTYPE, RECID, CLIENTCOMPUTER, STATUS, DATAPARTITION) VALUES (@max_val, @serverid, @versionid, @loginDateTime, @userid, @sid, @lanExt, @manExt, @clientType, @sessionType, @recid, @computerName, 1, @dataPartition)

the code seems working if you see it at a glimpse.

I decided to test it with a user, creating many sessions with it, and see if the number is incrementing like the code is written.

the test result is :