Recognize revenues and expenses in periods other than the period in which the transaction is posted

Hello everyone, I hope your day is going well. My name is Christos Pittis, and I am a Microsoft Dynamics NAV Consultant. In this episode, I am going to show you how to setup and automatically defer revenues and expenses over a specified schedule with the Deferrals feature in Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2016.

Revenues for services or goods delivered over multiple accounting periods are not necessarily recognized in the accounting period in which the sales document is posted, and payment is received.

To distribute revenues on the involved accounting periods, you can set up a deferral template for the resource, item, or G/L account that the revenues will be posted for. When you post the related sales document, the revenues are deferred to the involved accounting periods, according to a deferral schedule that is governed by settings in the deferral template and the posting date.

Many companies use Allowed Posting From and Allowed Posting fields to prohibit users from posting transactions outside the accounting year range. If the deferral schedule falls outside that accounting year range you will get the following error:

“Posting Date is not within your range of allowed posting dates.”

Open your Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2016 client go to the Chart of Accounts. In this example, I am creating a new G/L Account under the section “Other Liabilities.” :

Hit the New button on the top so to create a new G/L Account.

Find below the data I used for my example in Cronus demo database:

No. = 5930

Name = Unearned Revenue/Deferred Income

Income/Balance = Balance Sheet

Debit/Credit = Both

Account Type = Posting

Gen. Posting Type = Sales

Gen. Bus. Posting Group = NATIONAL

Gen. Prod. Posting Group = RETAIL

VAT Bus. Posting Group = NATIONAL

VAT Prod. Posting Group = VAT17

Click OK.

Do not forget to hit the Indent Chart of Accounts button.