Setup and run workflows for your business operations

Hello everyone, I hope this video finds you well. My name is Christos Pittis, and I am a Microsoft Dynamics NAV Consultant. In this episode, I am going to show you how to setup and run Sales Quote approval requests to your Sales Manager using the Workflows feature on Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2016.

You can set up and use workflows that connect business-process tasks performed by different users. System tasks, such as automatic posting, can be included as steps in workflows, preceded or followed by user tasks. Requesting and granting approval to create new records are typical workflow steps.

I will be switching between two roles so to demonstrate this scenario:

1. Salesperson
  2. Sales Manager

Open your Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2016 client and search for the Approval User Setup page. Click on it. In the User ID field lookup to find the Sales Manager’s User ID and click OK. Place a check mark in the following fields:

1. Unlimited Sales Approval
  2. Unlimited Request Approval
  3. Approval Administrator

In this example, I assume there is no Sales Amount Approval Limit and Sales Manager can delegate requests to substitute approvers or delete overdue approval requests.

In the second line look up the User ID field and select the Salesperson’s User ID. Do not forget to enter the Sales Manager’s User ID in the Approver ID field. If you wish to receive email notifications, then enter email addresses in the email field. Have in mind that you must setup an SMTP server first https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn951539(v=nav.90).aspx. After completing this task click OK to close the page.

Go back to your search bar and search for the Workflows page. Click on it. Click on the New Workflow from Templates button which locates on the top under the HOME tab. Expand the Sales Document node and select the Sales Quote Approval Workflow option. Click OK.