By Sandor Schellenberg, Owner and Founder, friendlyITsolutions

As an independent consultant, I work for different clients with very different approaches to finishing a Microsoft Dynamics CRM implementation successfully. The most common project management methodologies used in these projects include Sure Step, Prince II, Waterfall, DSDM, Agile, Scrum and sometimes a company's own creation.

The choice of a certain project management methodology seems easy enough, but especially for companies new to implementing Dynamics CRM or so called xRM solutions, it turns out often to be a struggle.

The struggle, in my opinion, is due to the fact that Dynamics CRM is not just standard software that can be implemented like Office. The implementation of Dynamics CRM requires consultants with expertise in different areas such as process analysis, software architecture, data modeling, programming and of course Dynamics CRM itself.

The challenge is to combine these different areas into one methodology, taking into consideration that your developer might be used to a more classic approach and your functional consultant might prefer more agile approach. For example, front-end changes can be applied within minutes, while programming additional code might take days or weeks.

This article outlines some of the approaches I have experienced and hopefully gives you some guidance in choosing your implementation partner in combination with the right methodology.

Dynamic Systems Development Method (DSDM)

The DSDM methodology can be used as the start of your implementation. It is especially interesting to start with DSDM if you would like to start your project with a prototype as a proof of concept. Keep in mind that DSDM has to be used as a framework and is often useful if your goal is to deliver a prototype.