web
You’re offline. This is a read only version of the page.
close
Skip to main content

Announcements

No record found.

News and Announcements icon
Community site session details

Community site session details

Session Id :
Dynamics 365 Community / Forums / Finance forum / D365 package build pro...
Finance forum

D365 package build process makes new files

(0) ShareShare
ReportReport
Posted on by

Hi!

Story: I have 2 branches in visual studio (.com). I had 2 objects - extensions, which I created checked in and then I deleted and checked in. 

Both branches now are completely equal.

Problem: When I am trying to build deployable package from visualstudio.com, it recreates those 2 deleted objects in build machines local folder. So in phase "Build the solution" it throws error saying I have naming problems in those deleted files. And I can not create Deployment Package. BUT when i create that package from Visual studio in my virtual machine, it creates it without problems.

P.S. When I build my model, there are no problems, no errors. Those 2 deleted files not exist anywhere - not locally not in VS.com checked in code.

Question: How to solve it? Where is the problem? I already tried to make new branch and new build definition - did not helped.

  • Suggested answer
    Joris dG Profile Picture
    17,782 on at

    You have likely gone on the build VM and used the dev tools on it. You likely did this prior to any build ever having run. The first time the build runs it takes a backup of the packages folder so it can start fresh on every build. If you've done development on the box manually (please don't) then the backup it took likely contains whatever you were doing.

    So, any time the build runs now, it "cleans" your packages folder with what it thinks is a clean copy of AX vanilla. But it's not, it contains some of your code. So it puts it back every time.

  • torakri Profile Picture
    on at

    This sounds promising. How to fix it?

  • KyleLeBarre Profile Picture
    747 on at

    Hey Joris, is this baseline backup regenerated after the build environment has had an application update applied or something? If the "clean" process with a clean copy of AX vanilla and the backup folder is from the first baseline potentially on an older version, just wondering how it knows to either refresh the baseline or ignore updating those base ms packages.  

    Anyway, Toms, it looks like if you log into the build environment and go to "J:\DynamicsBackup", you can remove the "packages" folder and it will create a new backup baseline upon the next build. I'd just do that and manually delete/move all of the items from PackagesLocalDirectory you have checked into source control, then kick off a devops build.  

  • Suggested answer
    Joris dG Profile Picture
    17,782 on at

    You can also delete your custom packages from the backup, there's no need to have it create a new backup if you're just going to delete it in packages as well.

    As far as updates, yes the baseline is regenerated however it does put the backup back first, then deletes the backup. So your code would still be there unless you remove it.

    The only way to fix it is:

    1) manually remove the custom packages from the backup

    or 2) redeploy

Under review

Thank you for your reply! To ensure a great experience for everyone, your content is awaiting approval by our Community Managers. Please check back later.

Helpful resources

Quick Links

November Spotlight Star - Khushbu Rajvi

Congratulations to a top community star!

Forum Structure Changes Coming on 11/8!

In our never-ending quest to help the Dynamics 365 Community members get answers faster …

Dynamics 365 Community Platform update – Oct 28

Welcome to the next edition of the Community Platform Update. This is a status …

Leaderboard > Finance

Last 30 days Overall leaderboard

Featured topics

Product updates

Dynamics 365 release plans