Skip to main content

Notifications

Announcements

No record found.

Dynamics 365 Community / Forums / Finance forum / Batch job tasks - only...
Finance forum
Answered

Batch job tasks - only save errors to history

Posted on by 35

Hello,

I have created a data export project that exports data entities to our customer's BYOD. The export is run in batch and since it runs frequently, by default it creates lot of records in the BatchJob table. I have changed the batch job setting to save only errors to history. Still, the batch job tasks/lines that the batch job executes get saved in the BatchJob table and i haven't been able to find the setting to prevent that. I had created the original batch job and it is currently set to run by a different user. Should that user change the "save to history" setting as well? Many thanks for any assistance.

  • Suggested answer
    Community member Profile Picture
    Community member 11 on at
    Batch job tasks - only save errors to history
    Hi Piski, 
     
    There is still no way to prevent Batch Jobs from being created afaik, but you could delete them with OOB: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/spring-cleaning-batch-jobs-dynamics-365-finance-apps-tina-van-heerden-x3h0e/?trackingId=tCwcA8FPQM%2Bl%2BnGgXc6sBg%3D%3D 
  • Piski Profile Picture
    Piski 35 on at
    RE: Batch job tasks - only save errors to history

    Hi Will,

    thank you for the answer. It seems that in our case, setting up a regular batch history cleanup will be needed to remove the batch task records.

  • Verified answer
    WillWU Profile Picture
    WillWU 22,344 on at
    RE: Batch job tasks - only save errors to history

    Hi Piski,

    Alerts will always be sent if the Save job to history option on the General tab is set to Always. If this option is set to Errors only, alerts will be sent only if the job was unsuccessful. If this option is set to Never, alerts will not be sent.

    docs.microsoft.com/.../create-a-batch-job

    This setting is just to control the alerts, batch task records will always be saved in the table.

    You could create a "Custom batch job history clean-up".

    docs.microsoft.com/.../batch-history-cleanup

Helpful resources

Quick Links

Replay now available! Dynamics 365 Community Call (CRM Edition)

Catch up on the first D365 Community Call held on 7/10

Community Spotlight of the Month

Kudos to Saurav Dhyani!

Congratulations to the June Top 10 community leaders!

These stars go above and beyond . . .

Leaderboard

#1
André Arnaud de Calavon Profile Picture

André Arnaud de Cal... 288,420 Super User

#2
Martin Dráb Profile Picture

Martin Dráb 225,672 Super User

#3
nmaenpaa Profile Picture

nmaenpaa 101,148

Leaderboard

Featured topics

Product updates

Dynamics 365 release plans