NAV 2009 R2 has been released for about two weeks now, so it's time to get you up-to-speed on some topics. i'm sure lots of blogs are picking this up, so exciting times are coming :-).

What I have been struggling with lately (and I mean that literally...) is being able to use .Net Interop for something useful .. calling a Web Service. You probably all have seen this in a video that was broadcasted a while ago. I didn't, and that was also the reason why I was struggling, probably ;°). Here is the video: http://www.mibuso.com/dlinfo.asp?FileID=1272. I strongly recommend you to watch it. Some very simple examples and explanation on how to use .NET Interop.

My Findings

I am a C/AL developer, not a .Net developer. People might think otherwise because of my little project: WaldoNavPad, but no .. with working on this blog, I was reminded in the wealth I was developing (called C/AL, Dynamics NAV, C/SIDE, ...). It's difficult to make the ".NET-switch", and I'm afraid I'm not going to be the only one.. . therefore I'm even more motivated to put up a few blog posts about this great new feature we have in C/AL.. .

What are we gonna do ...

We're going to call a Web Service. You know that publishing a web service has been a peace of cake. Freddy has shown this is in lots of blog posts .. I did a few myself. But what about consuming a Web Service in NAV? The other way around. That hasn't been that easy (just read this article on Freddy's blog, or this article on my blog). Lots of lines of code, nothing straight forward ... .

How is NAV 2009 R2 .NET Interop going to help with this?