How to tell the correct story

• Comments 2

Hello all,

today I want to write a little about something, what is may be known and obvious to someone, but still it is good to talk about it. As a developer, I am on the side, which is creating customizations/modifications/add-ons in Microsoft Dynamics NAV based on the customer requirements. In many cases,the requirements are created by people, which are not technically focused. And because technically focused people talking with different language than end-user or consultants, I want to try to show you some tips, which can make this communication better.

Task description

When customers are asking partners/developers to make some changes, they are giving the task written in different way. Sometime, the problem is described in technical language like:

“Add new field named “Original quantity req.” into Purchase Line table and fill it with same value entered into field Quantity, before the document is partially or fully posted”.

Ok, the task is clear, but: when developer hits some conflict with different functionality, he do not know what to do. He will do only what is described, he will not think about it. E.g. what about quantity in base unit of measure (it is good practice to have both in the line)? What about different table used to post some purchase documents? What about tables with posted documents? “Mission” of this task is unknown. The meaning is not there…

Another description:

“We want to know the quantity, we ordered on the purchase order”