Question Status

Verified
Chris Swinehart asked a question on 13 Mar 2015 2:14 PM

We've just started using Workflow 2.0 for purchase orders and requisitions and we've run into the following situation:

1. The final step in our PO workflow is a task for the buyer to verify pricing and place the order. The buyer cannot print/release the PO until she marks this task as complete and the workflow as a whole is complete. (We don't have a problem with this step)

2. The buyer doesn't know the promised date until after she has printed/released the PO, submitted the PO to the vendor, and the vendor has replied with the promised date.

3. The buyer then goes back into the PO to update the promised date. When she does this, GP forces her to recall and re-submit the PO because the workflow was already completed. Now we have to go through the whole approval workflow again.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to allow our buyer to change the promised date without having the PO recalled?

Thanks!

Reply
Verified Answer
Derek Albaugh responded on 26 Mar 2015 3:05 PM

Hello Chris,

By default, anytime a change is made to a completed PO, it will be recalled and thus set to pending approval again, which is why users get the message telling them this, before they save the changes.

I do see the need for this, as in the scenario you have described, but as it is now, any change will reset the status of the PO to be 'Pending Approval' and force it through the Workflow process again, as you mentioned.

I would add this as a Product Suggestion if it hasn't been added already, and vote on it if it has:

PRODUCT SUGGESTION:  Is there an enhancement you’d like to see considered?  Use the link below to voice your opinion.  Every suggestion is read and triaged by the Dynamics GP Development Team.  Or vote on an existing suggestion, as the more votes they get, increases the priority rating on it.

connect.microsoft.com/dynamicssuggestions

Our GP Development team look at these each week and the more votes a suggestion gets, the more likely it is to get into a future update.

Thanks

Reply
Chris Swinehart responded on 27 Mar 2015 12:55 PM

Derek,

Thank you for the response. I wasn't aware of the suggestions page. It looks like this issue is already covered by suggestion ID 741575.

Comment from Microsoft says: "Thank you for your suggestion. From your description, we believe this functionality is already on a list of enhancements being considered for future releases."

Reply
Verified Answer
Derek Albaugh responded on 26 Mar 2015 3:05 PM

Hello Chris,

By default, anytime a change is made to a completed PO, it will be recalled and thus set to pending approval again, which is why users get the message telling them this, before they save the changes.

I do see the need for this, as in the scenario you have described, but as it is now, any change will reset the status of the PO to be 'Pending Approval' and force it through the Workflow process again, as you mentioned.

I would add this as a Product Suggestion if it hasn't been added already, and vote on it if it has:

PRODUCT SUGGESTION:  Is there an enhancement you’d like to see considered?  Use the link below to voice your opinion.  Every suggestion is read and triaged by the Dynamics GP Development Team.  Or vote on an existing suggestion, as the more votes they get, increases the priority rating on it.

connect.microsoft.com/dynamicssuggestions

Our GP Development team look at these each week and the more votes a suggestion gets, the more likely it is to get into a future update.

Thanks

Reply