Question Status

Suggested Answer
Marco Dalinoc asked a question on 21 Jul 2014 10:21 PM

Hello Everyone!

I just had my registration two months ago so I'm new to the product and the community.

We have this client who marks up its items when transferring between departments, something that is unique and only now that I have heard of.

Does NAV 2013 or NAV 2013 R2 have this capability? As far as I know, inter-department transfers have no mark up.

Thank you very much! :)

Suggested Answer
Miguel Llorca responded on 22 Jul 2014 1:38 AM

You can create a specific section for the journal, so you can verify where the item movement came from. Another possibility is using a dimension for "mark" it. Any option is better than to modify the standard.

Good luck!

Miguel LLorca Gómez

Suggested Answer
Jens Glathe responded on 22 Jul 2014 4:08 AM

Hi frogfunk,

I assume that you mean "transfer at unit cost + markup"... well, no, that is not how the transfer in NAV is intended. Transfers in NAV are always at unit cost. There is special checking in the posting routines to ensure it.

What is possible, though, is to assign the transfer cost and the markup you want to have as Item Charges to the posted transfer shipment. That is supported by NAV. This implies you do the markup calculation by hand, or you make a customization for the markup calculation.

with best regards

Jens

Marco Dalinoc responded on 22 Jul 2014 4:09 AM

Buenas Dias Miguel!

The item transfer would be made thru the Transfer module in InStore Management. Is it possible to have the item marked up once it is transferred?

Marco Dalinoc responded on 22 Jul 2014 4:13 AM

Gutten Tag, Jens!

Yes, that's how it is. I already looked at the module and it is only on a cost-to-cost transfer basis so there's no mark up on the item.

I'll look into your suggestions then.

Thanks, Jens! :)

Suggested Answer
Jens Glathe responded on 22 Jul 2014 4:18 AM

Hallo frogfunk,