web
You’re offline. This is a read only version of the page.
close
Skip to main content

Announcements

No record found.

News and Announcements icon
Community site session details

Community site session details

Session Id :
Finance | Project Operations, Human Resources, ...
Suggested Answer

Batch jobs - Deleting "created by" user

(0) ShareShare
ReportReport
Posted on by 322

Hi,

Several batch jobs in our system were created by external consultants through their personal users. Now these consultants have left the company, so we plan to delete their users. 

I have read several posts saying that deleting the user will also delete the batch job.

However, a while back we deleted one of the users and it did not delete the batch job. The only thing we had to do was to change the "run by" user.

Is it safe to delete the user who created the batch job?

  • Suggested answer
    Ramit Paul Profile Picture
    22,809 Most Valuable Professional on at

    It's fine to delete users and change the run by , it won't affect anywhere.

  • Suggested answer
    Mohit Rampal Profile Picture
    12,573 Moderator on at

    Hi Gaute, I don't think deleting a user will delete the batch job. As you mentioned, we generally change the Run by user first in batch job and then delete the user.

  • Gaute K Profile Picture
    322 on at

    dynamicspedia.com/.../

    alexdmeyer.com/.../

    These posts state that deleting the "created by" user will also delete the batch jobs.

    Are the information in these posts outdated?

  • Mohit Rampal Profile Picture
    12,573 Moderator on at

    Above articles are right, I have done quick test, If you delete Created By user then related batch jobs will also be deleted. If you just delete Run by user (Assuming Run by user is different from Created By) then Batch will still exists.

    If you want to be sure, You can test it in your Devbox.

  • Gaute K Profile Picture
    322 on at

    As I wrote in the first post we have already deleted a user that is still in the "Created by" field. The batch jobs created by this user still exist and work as intended. Hence, it does not seem like the batch jobs are automatically being deleted in every case.

    Does anyone know what affect if the batch jobs are being deleted or not?

  • Suggested answer
    André Arnaud de Calavon Profile Picture
    307,166 Super User 2026 Season 2 on at

    Hi Gaute,

    Microsoft made some changes after I wrote my blog Life's a batch... - Dynamicspedia. They probably implemented one of the ideas without updating the status on the idea.

    When there are pending batch jobs, you will now get a dialog warning about available batch jobs. If the batch job is in e.g. an executing state, an AOS validation will fail and not delete the batch job.

    As written in my blog, it would be better to use a service account. You can copy the batch to fully have dependency on the service account and then delete the obsolete users including the old batch jobs. 

Under review

Thank you for your reply! To ensure a great experience for everyone, your content is awaiting approval by our Community Managers. Please check back later.

Helpful resources

Quick Links

Season of Sharing Community Challenge Winners!

Congratulations to our community stars!

Women in Power Builds Momentum

Expanding mentorship, skilling, and AI innovation

Congratulations to the July Top 10 Community Leaders

These are the community rock stars!

Leaderboard > Finance | Project Operations, Human Resources, AX, GP, SL

#1
Martin Dráb Profile Picture

Martin Dráb 426 Most Valuable Professional

#2
CU10121822-0 Profile Picture

CU10121822-0 358

#3
André Arnaud de Calavon Profile Picture

André Arnaud de Cal... 353 Super User 2026 Season 2

Last 30 days Overall leaderboard

Product updates

Dynamics 365 release plans