web
You’re offline. This is a read only version of the page.
close
Skip to main content

Announcements

News and Announcements icon
Community site session details

Community site session details

Session Id :
Service | Customer Service, Contact Center, Fie...
Unanswered

Service Item disappears after posting a Purchase Receipt in BC26 (Service Module)

(1) ShareShare
ReportReport
Posted on by 2
Hello everyone,

I’m working in the Service Module of Business Central 26 (standard environment, no customizations) and I’ve encountered an issue related to service items and item receipts.

Here’s the situation:
I sell an item, and a service item is automatically created as expected.
Later, I receive the item back from the customer due to a sales complaint (reclamation).
As soon as I post the purchase receipt (item receipt) for this returned item, the related service item disappears from the system (I also get the message).
No credit memo is posted yet — only the item receipt because the customer will get back the item.
I have checked the Service Setup, but I can’t find any option like “Automatically delete service items” that could explain this behavior.

Could someone please confirm if this is standard behavior in BC26?
  • Why is the service item automatically deleted when the receipt is posted?
  • Is there a way to prevent this from happening while keeping the service item active for further processing?

Environment details:
  • Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central 26
  • Standard configuration (no custom extensions)
  • Using Service Orders and Item Receipts (no credit memo posting)

Thank you in advance for your help!
 
I have the same question (0)
  • FSRon Profile Picture
    103 on at
    Sorry for the obvious question, but just to check: is the item maybe just hidden through a filter on "active"? It seems like the item is generated, visible and then deactivated automatically whenever no longer "needed" (as defined by the system).
    If you removed the filter the item would remain visible, I might just add a status column to the listview.
     
    Else if it really is deleted then that would mean there is a lookup to it and an automatic deletion process. In this case my remedy to not touch the standard, would be to clone the item oncreate. The copy remains yours and shouldn't be removed. Dynamics doesn't generally do any "delete all" scrubs, hence any copies should remain. Of course you'd need to avoid showing everything in duplicate, but maybe that can help get you in the right direction before fixing such details.

Under review

Thank you for your reply! To ensure a great experience for everyone, your content is awaiting approval by our Community Managers. Please check back later.

Helpful resources

Quick Links

Season of Sharing Community Challenge Winners!

Congratulations to our community stars!

Women in Power Builds Momentum

Expanding mentorship, skilling, and AI innovation

Congratulations to the July Top 10 Community Leaders

These are the community rock stars!

Leaderboard > Service | Customer Service, Contact Center, Field Service, Guides

#1
Daniyal Khaleel Profile Picture

Daniyal Khaleel 23 Most Valuable Professional

#2
Syed Aqib Raza Profile Picture

Syed Aqib Raza 19

#3
11manish Profile Picture

11manish 16 Super User 2026 Season 2

Last 30 days Overall leaderboard

Featured topics

Product updates

Dynamics 365 release plans