web
You’re offline. This is a read only version of the page.
close
Skip to main content

Announcements

No record found.

News and Announcements icon
Community site session details

Community site session details

Session Id :
Customer experience | Sales, Customer Insights,...
Answered

What data is lost on deleting managed solution

(0) ShareShare
ReportReport
Posted on by 8

Hi, 

Please help me understand what data is lost on deleting a managed solution, is it the entire data for the entity that was a part of the managed solution?

For example:

Entity A in Production has 10 records.

A managed Patch A1 was installed in prod with few changes in Entity A, after which 5 more records were created for Entity A

Now when i uninstall the managed patch A1, will it delete all 15 records or just 5 records?

If all 15 records will be removed. is there a way to save 10 records prior to patch installation?

Thanks,

PS

  • Verified answer
    Gilmeyer Profile Picture
    Microsoft Employee on at

    Hi,

    Lets say managed Patch A1 introduces a new field to Entity A from.  Then when managed Patch A1 is deleted, all data related with field introduced by it will be lost. 

    So , if 5 records were created after managed Patch A1, when deleting managed Patch A1 these records will lose that field and associated information. 

    Thanks

  • Verified answer
    gdas Profile Picture
    50,091 Moderator on at

    A solution can contain Entity and fields which basically holds the data. So if you uninstall managed solutions means you are basically deleting the managed solution fields and entities from the environment. So in that you can not find any data in the environment for those entity and field. Please note this is applicable for single solution and the entity which only available in that particular managed solution.

    In case of deleting  managed patch, let's suppose  you added new entity or may be you added only fields on an existing enitity which may exists in another managed or default solutions or any other component added in the patch . In this scenario you will be completely lost the data for the new entity , however for the existing entity data will be there but field which you added newly  in the patch will be lost.

    In addition the component like views , forms , web resource which you created for that solution everything will be deleted.

  • PS10 Profile Picture
    8 on at

    Thanks for explaining Goutam, however i was wondering if is this the best practice to roll over any changes done in a patch.

  • PS10 Profile Picture
    8 on at

    Thank you for answering Gilmeyer

Under review

Thank you for your reply! To ensure a great experience for everyone, your content is awaiting approval by our Community Managers. Please check back later.

Helpful resources

Quick Links

Season of Sharing Community Challenge Winners!

Congratulations to our community stars!

Women in Power Builds Momentum

Expanding mentorship, skilling, and AI innovation

Congratulations to the July Top 10 Community Leaders

These are the community rock stars!

Leaderboard > Customer experience | Sales, Customer Insights, CRM

#1
Syed Aqib Raza Profile Picture

Syed Aqib Raza 96

#2
11manish Profile Picture

11manish 88 Super User 2026 Season 2

#3
ParthPatel249 Profile Picture

ParthPatel249 84

Last 30 days Overall leaderboard

Product updates

Dynamics 365 release plans