Skip to main content

Notifications

Announcements

No record found.

Dynamics 365 Community / Forums / Commerce forum / Modern POS offline fun...
Commerce forum
Suggested answer

Modern POS offline functionality

Posted on by 3,801

Hi All,

I am new to D365. I am trying to install/configure MPOS application at one testing machine and also installing "Retail Store Scale Unit" on it.

When I run MPOS application installer it install SQL and one offline channel DB as well.

When I run RSSU installer it also create one channel DB. 

I am confuse between these two DBs what their role is here? both are performing as offline DB? 

Can anybody provide clarification?

• Suggested answer
    Manvendra Singh Profile Picture
    Manvendra Singh 360 on at
    RE: Modern POS offline functionality

Hi Hassan,

RSSU helps you run Cloud POS on premises when there's Internet connection issue, which mean you can access POS on browser within the premises offline.

Where as when you install MPOS application and Offline DB it helps you with that particular Modern POS.

In the both the cases you need Offline DBs to support Offline functionality.

• Suggested answer
    Shafeeque Mohammed Profile Picture
    Shafeeque Mohammed 6,146 Super User on at
    RE: Modern POS offline functionality

If you compare Dynamics 365 vs AX 2012. The DB created while installing the RSSU serves the same purpose as the channel database you install in AX 2012. Which means,  you can have multiple MPOS connecting to the same store database ( installed locally in store). In this architecture, the store will operate even if you lose WAN connectivity to HQ.