Notifications

Announcements

No record found.

Microsoft Dynamics AX forum
Answered

X++ symbol primer wanted

Posted on by Microsoft Employee

Hello,

I know, total newb question but here it goes. I'm looking for a source to help me understand the X++ reserved keywords and symbols (e.g., @, #). I've looked over this source ...

msdn.microsoft.com/.../aa661012.aspx

... but there isn't much in practical examples. I'd say I'd emphasize the symbols more than the keywords. Reason is I see sample codes and the AX X++ code often use these symbols but I'm often totally confused on how they're used.

Thank you!

• Suggested answer
    Rudi Hansen Profile Picture
    Rudi Hansen 3,983 on at
    RE: X++ symbol primer wanted

So that leaves the question, was AX inspired by XAL witch was inspired by C++, or was AX inspired directly from C++?? :-)

• Martin Dráb Profile Picture
    Martin Dráb 225,588 Super User on at

Just for reference, macros are explained in great detail on MSDN: Macros in X++ [AX 2012]. I think that most AX developers don't actually know all of that...

I'm pretty sure that X++ macros have been inspired by C++ preprocessor macros.

• Verified answer
    Rudi Hansen 3,983 on at

I understand your confusion, the hash character (#) is used for creating what they call macros in AX. And it is mostly used for constants as you might have figured.

So there should be plenty of examples in all the Macros in the AOT.

But the idea is that you can make a macro/constant like this.

#define.io_write('W')

And the you can use it in your code like this.

file = new BinaryIo(_filename, #io_write);

I think the reason they are still called macro, is dating back to the "old" Dynamics XAL, where macros where the functions of that language. And when they made Dynamics AX they kept the macros in the language, to keep a little backwards compatibly with Dynamics XAL.