Today I set out on trying to figure out how to filter down the list of queues in the user’s queue drop down list.  Particularly for larger organizations, this list is absoultely unmanageable.  No user should reasonably be expected to sift through hundreds of queues to get to the ones they want.  This is what the list looks like before filtering it down.  Imagine what this would look like if it was a 2000 seat system!

Client names blurred out for obvious reasons

Client names blurred out for obvious reasons

After exhausting my google search capabilities, it dawned on me that we can set the security roles of the users to only allow them to see their own queues.

The modified queue security privilege set to read only

After making that change to the security roles I only needed to share out the queues that I do want the users to see to the right BU team and we end up with something that looks like this:

The filtered queue list

The filtered queue list

Much easier on the eyes.  It’s important to note that sharing the queues with a team as opposed to a user will apply to all new members of that team in the future, meaning we only need to do this once.  Happy CRM’ing!