Personalized Community is here!
Quickly customize your community to find the content you seek.
Choose your path Increase your proficiency with the Dynamics 365 applications that you already use and learn more about the apps that interest you. Up your game with a learning path tailored to today's Dynamics 365 masterminds and designed to prepare you for industry-recognized Microsoft certifications.
Visit Microsoft Learn
2022 Release Wave 1 PlanDynamics 365 release plan for the 2022 release wave 1 describes all new features releasing from April 2022 through September 2022.
2022 release wave 1 plan
The FastTrack program is designed to help you accelerate your Dynamics 365 deployment with confidence.
FastTrack Community | FastTrack Program | Finance and Operations TechTalks | Customer Engagement TechTalks | Upcoming TechTalks | All TechTalks
I wanted to share some information regarding disabling and reenabling encumbrance with you today.
There are situations where disabling and reenabling encumbrance is the best option to correct data corruption, and/or 3rd party/customization issues that are causing error messages to appear with processes like the Encumbrance Year-End Transfer or the Encumbrance reconcile routine. But the question that always come up is “what data will I lose” if I do this process. This blog will describe and give you examples of what exactly happens after disabling and reenabling encumbrance in hopes to shed some light on the subject and put you at ease if you should need to do this to correct data or avoid an error message.
In a nutshell, disabling encumbrance does not mean you will lose actual Purchase Order Processing data. All Open, Closed, Received, Change Orders, Cancelled and Closed POs will remain in the system regardless of whether they are in the Open or History files. ONLY data for POs you have in the history table and specific historical encumbrance data will be removed. If the PO is in HISTORY (The Remove Completed Purchase Orders was process was ran on the PO), then encumbrance will not look at that PO when enabling and rebuilding the encumbrance tables.
Below illustrate what changes and what stays the same:
Below is where you disable Encumbrance.
Purchasing >> Setup >> Encumbrance Management
Below are 4 examples of the data before and after disabling encumbrance to help illustrate what you will see.
SUMMARY PERSECTIVE: Below is what the summary window looked like before and then after disabling. As you can see, from a summary perspective, NOTHING changed.
After disabling and reenabling:
DETAILS ILLUSTRATED BEFORE AND AFTER DISABLING AND THEN REENABLING: You will find that only 2 of the 4 examples changed. The 1ST and the 3rd example:
Example: 1: Closed PO in Open table (NOTHING changes)
Example: 2 - A line that was pre- encumbered, encumbered, and liquidated. This PO is Closed in the Open table (not moved to history) (Only change is that the detail is summarized)
After disabling and reenabling: (detail is summarized but balances)
Example 3: PO was shipped and invoiced (liquidated) AND moved to History. (PO in History). This is a scenario where the details don’t rebuild. However, the amount is still included in GL and is considered against your budget.
Before disabling: (BEFORE/AFTER MOVING TO HISTORY IT LOOKED THE SAME)
Example 4: PO is the Open table and encumbered, but not liquidated. (No changes)
So, in a nutshell, you don’t lose ANY of your purchase order data. What is affected is just encumbrance data which is just summarized when Encumbrance is re-enabled based on the scenarios above.
I use this process of disabling, moving old POs to history and reenabling if having many issues with Encumbrance year end transfer or reconcile and continue to have issues that come up. Again, just an option I wanted to share.
Hope this helps give you a better understanding of what it means when it’s suggested to disable and reenable encumbrance and what you would “lose”.
Angela Ebensteiner | SR Technical Advisor | Microsoft Dynamics GP
Business Applications communities