Skip to main content

Notifications

Dynamics 365 Community / Forums / Finance forum / About enable change tr...
Finance forum
Answered

About enable change tracking through enable custom query change tracking.

Posted on by 155

Hi every one I am new to AX. I am doing some Research and development on change tracking .

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics365/unified-operations/dev-itpro/data-entities/entity-change-track

In the above link I am not understanding what is written in custom query for change tracking. I would be very great full if some one explains me in a step by step procedure of what they have  done.

2019_2D00_05_2D00_24_5F00_1722.png

I am very confused with the highlighted statements.

• Neetha Profile Picture
    Neetha 155 on at
    RE: About enable change tracking through enable custom query change tracking.

Thank you so much wang

• Verified answer
    Blue Wang Profile Picture
    Blue Wang on at

Hi Neetha,

There are three ways to enable change tracking (that is, those you find in the screenshot),.

Enable primary table, it only changes the entity by updating the primary table.

0876.2.PNG
    You need to choose the right one for your needs.

• Neetha Profile Picture
    Neetha 155 on at

how to enable change tracking on Table not part of the entity.  Data Management - > Data Entities - > (Filter Select Your Entities) - > Change Tracking - > Enable Primary table. Is this the correct path?

• Verified answer
    Blue Wang Profile Picture
    Blue Wang on at

Hi Neetha,

First, the requirement is to enable change tracking on the table, not part of the entity. A join query table is needed to populate the values in the entity.
    The part you point out is custom query change tracking, which means changing data in a custom table will change the data in the entity accordingly.
    The meaning of the code is to create a query and return the query object based on the relationship between the entity's root table and the custom table.