Work or School Accounts now enabled in Community

On 5/12/19, Microsoft Work or School accounts were enabled in Dynamics 365 Communities, along with the existing MSA login functionality.

Note: We are in the midst of resolving post-deployment issues, and in the meantime we recommend the following:

1. Some login issues can be resolved by using incognito/inprivate browser sessions.

2. Clear browser cache/cookies

3. Try another browser (Edge seems to work better)

4. Try another MSA login if that is an option (temporary workaround)

Multiple Accounts - Merging

If you wish to merge existing community data (i.e., forum posts, blog comments, points, badges, etc.) from one login to another login which is not yet registered in the Dynamics 365 community(e.g., migrate community data from a legacy Microsoft login to a newer Work or School login), there will be a self-service method available later this week. In this case, all community data is migrated.

If you wish to merge community data (i.e., forum posts, blog comments, points, badges, etc.) from one login to another login (and both logins have community accounts), this can be done by submitting an email request to the admin team to resolve. In this case, not all data is migrated - see Merging Two Existing Community Accounts below.

Merging Two Existing Community Accounts

If you've created multiple accounts on the Microsoft Dynamics Community, you can request that the accounts be merged.  Merging accounts combines all the content you've created but not the settings.*  See the following examples when merging Account A (to be deleted) into Account B:

Information that WILL be merged:

  • All content such as forum questions and replies, blog articles, blog comments, etc. from Account A will be merged into Account B.  After the merge is complete, the author of that content will now be Account B.
  • Account B will be eligible for new badges, based on the increase in content being merged into the account from Account A.
  • Account B may increase rank in leaderboards, based on the increase in content being merged into the account from Account A.

Information that will NOT be merged:

  • All settings, favorites, inbox private messages, people following, followers, etc. for Account A will not be merged and thus will be deleted when the account is merged.
  • No change will be made to settings, favorites, inbox private messages, people following, followers, etc. for Account B.

* If the newer community account does not need to be preserved, you can request to have it deleted, and then you can migrate all content from the original community login to a newer login using one of the four methods shown above.

Back to Top

Request form

Request to merge multiple accounts by copying and pasting the following form into an email to the Microsoft Dynamics Community Administration Team.

=== Copy and paste the below text ===

  1. Profile URL to be deleted -- Copy and paste the URL to this account's profile page (see instructions below).  The content from this account will be merged into the following account and then this account deleted.
    1. <Profile URL>
  2. Profile URL to keep -- Copy and paste the URL to this account's profile page (see instructions below).
    1. <Profile URL>

=== Copy and paste the above text ===

Back to Top

How to find your profile URL

  1. Sign in.
  2. Click your name/photo in the upper-right of the site.
  3. Select "View Profile" from the menu.
  4. Copy the URL for the page.

Back to Top

Account verification

Before your accounts can be merged, you will be asked to verify you are the owner of the accounts by sending us an email from the private email address listed for both accounts.  To find the private email address, perform the following steps for each account:

  1. Sign in.
  2. Click your name/photo in the upper-right of the site.
  3. Select "Settings" from the menu.
  4. Click the "Email" tab.
  5. Your email address is displayed in the "Private email" field.

Back to Top